AECT Qualitative Inquiry Award

The award honors individual scholarship for exemplary qualitative research recognizing insights into the social and cultural aspects of the educational technology field. The aim for the award is to build awareness of the professional field’s purpose and position.

Since l992 this award has encouraged and recognized qualitative understanding of educational communications and technology through inquiry from a variety of disciplines In the late 80s, AECT leaders Robert de Kieffer, Andrew Yeaman and Lida Cochran began discussions supporting and leading to the development of the award, and in l995 it was funded under the auspices of the ECT Foundation.

This award recognizes individual scholarship. Co-authored submissions are not accepted. Membership in AECT is required. (See membership benefits for more information.).

Review Criteria:
1) a cover letter requesting recognition of a completed study and the confirmation.  
2) a two page resume of the researcher;
3) a one page abstract of the study  
4) a 15-20 page double-spaced descriptive narrative including references and relevant material.
  This may be a final report or a synopsis of a final report and may have been published. The qualitative cornerstone should be clearly identified. Describe the study’s theoretical base, the inquiry issue, and the inquiry strategy. Include a description of the findings and an interpretation of the findings. Emphasize the social or cultural context.

An RTD review committee reviews all materials and forwards recommendations for selection.

Nomination Procedures:
Submit all 4 items in pdf format to AECT Research and Theory Division Immediate Past President Dr. Fei Gao ( with “AECT Qualitative Inquiry Award” in the subject line of the email.

Nature of Award: A cash award of $750.00 will be presented to the winner. The Award recipient may present at the annual AECT convention and has the opportunity to publish in the Educational Media and Technology Yearbook.

Presentation: Presented/acknowledged during the Research and Theory/Design and Development Awards Luncheon during the annual convention.

Funding And Support: ECT Foundation

Nominations due by: April 1, 2019

Award Management on behalf of AECT: Research & Theory Division

Contact : Dr. Fei Gao,



 • Yan Chen
 • Howard K. Kalman
 • Colin Gray
 • Douglas Hudson Tedford
 • Catherine Adams
 • Rick Voithofer
 • Catherine Adams
 • Dr. Ellen Rose

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675