Remembering Jerrold Kemp
by AECT Legends and Legacies

Jerrold E. Kemp Endowed Lecture Series


This AECT Award was established in 2012 to honor Dr. Jerrold (Jerry) Kemp and his extensive contributions to the discipline of instructional design. The recipient of this award will be recognized for innovations in research and/or best practices.

Accepted proposal for a paper or session focusing on Instructional Design and Development for the upcoming AECT convention.
A submitted nomination for the award on behalf of the presenter(s) from any one of AECTís divisions.

Review Criteria:
- Quality of accepted proposal and accompanying nomination documentation.
- Evidence of innovations in either research or best practices or both.

The AECT President-elect and the President-elect of the Design and Development Division coordinate the selection process (including identifying reviewers) from division nominations of accepted conference program proposals submitted during the convention planning process.

Nomination Procedures:
Each AECT division may submit up to three nominations from their accepted proposals.  Nominations should be submitted to the AECT President-elect of the Design and Development Division and include a detailed description of the nomineeís research trajectory and the impact of the scholarship on the field of IDT. Nominations should not exceed 500 words and include the title and abstract from selected proposals.  

Nature of Award: The winner will receive an honorarium of $500.00 from the ECT endowment in Dr. Kempís name and also a special session to present  during the annual convention.

Presentation: Awards ceremony at a General Session of the AECT annual convention.

Funding And Support: ECT Foundation

Nominations due by: May 31, 2023 

Award Management on behalf of AECT: Design and Development Division

Contact : Zahira Merchant, President-elect of the Division of Design and Development,



 • Dennis Beck
 • Scott Warren
 • Ikeson Choi, Hui Rong, and Andrew Tawfik
 • MaryAnn G. Tadlinsky
 • Kate E. Creevy
 • Karen K. Cornell
 • Chad Schmiedt
 • Yunseok Lee
 • Hyojin Park
 • Ikeson Choi

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675