AECT Distinguished Service Award
 for Extraordinary Contributions to the ECT Field

The AECT Distinguished Service Award is the highest given by AECT and honors contributions and accomplishments impacting the field of educational communications and technology (ECT) and related fields. The award recognizes exemplars from innovation, creative development, outstanding leadership, scholarly works, and professional practice at career milestones or during a lifetime of achievement including activity in AECT as well as other organizations and communities.

There is not a specific requirement for the timing, nature or variety of service.  
The award can honor specific accomplishments or a career of broad achievement.
The nominee need not be a member of AECT.
The award may be given more than once to the same person with approval of the AECT Executive Committee.
Nominee may not be serving as a current member of the AECT Board of Directors or the Awards Committee.

Review Criteria:
Evidence of exemplary achievement, contributions, and impact on any aspect of the field.
Quality of support from additional references for the nomination.

Nominations are coordinated, reviewed and recipients approved initially by the AECT Awards Committee. An award review sub-committee led by a member of the AECT Awards Committee and comprised of award committee members and non-members including a previous award recipient reports selections to the Chair for consideration by the full Awards Committee which forwards final recommendations to the AECT Executive Committee for confirmation.  
This honor is limited to two recipients per year.

Nomination Procedures:
To submit a nomination, click here to access the online nomination form.   Before entering and submitting, review  the form and then have all information prepared in advance.  Include any additional documentation as directed.  If a procedural or technical issue arises contact AECT headquarters or the award contact listed below for alternative submission options.  Include comments from one or more references.  Required contact information for references includes name and email address along with additional requested information.    Once submitted, an email will be sent to each reference requesting comments via a link in the message.

Nomination Form: Click here to submit a nomination.

Nature of Award: Plaque

Presentation: Awards Ceremony during a General Session at the AECT annual convention.

Funding And Support: AECT

Nominations due by: Aug. 15, 2019

Award Management on behalf of AECT: AECT Awards Committee

Contact : Steve Harmon, Chair, AECT Awards Committee,



 • Robert Reiser
 • Barbara Lockee
 • Kyle Peck
 • Ana Donaldson
 • Andrew Gibbons
 • Sharon Smaldino
 • Kay Persichitte
 • Mike Spector
 • Wes Miller
 • Lloyd Rieber
 • Richard Cornell
 • Lauren Cifuentes
 • Xiaoxue Charles Wang
 • Sharon Smaldino
 • Steve Ross
 • Ward Mitchell Cates
 • David H.Jonassen
 • Jerrold Kemp
 • Delia Neuman

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675