Remembering David Jonassen
by AECT Legends and Legacies

AECT David H. Jonassen Excellence in Research Award

This AECT award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated a long-term record of excellence in research in instructional design and technology. The award was established to remember the significant scholarly contributions made to the ECT field by Dr. David H. Jonassen.

Significant scholarly activity.
Need not be a member of AECT.
Cannot be a member of the AECT Board of Directors or the AECT Awards Committee.

Review Criteria:
Quality of research activity and trajectory and the impact of the research on the field.
Supporting comments and evidence from additional references and contributors to the nomination.

Nominations are coordinated, reviewed and recipients selected by the AECT Awards Committee which forwards names of award recipients to the AECT Executive Committee.  An award review sub-committee led by a member of the AECT Awards Committee and comprised of award committee members and non-members including a previous award recipient forwards recommendations to the Chair. No more than 3 awards are given annually.

Nomination Procedures:
To submit a nomination, online nomination form displayed. Before entering and submitting, review form and then have all information prepared in advance. Include any additional materials as directed. The nomination's supporting comments should address the purpose of the award. If a procedural or technical issue arises contact AECT headquarters or the award contact listed below for alternative submission options. Comments from up to a preferred three references is requested. Required contact information for the references includes name and email address along with additional requested information. Once submitted, an email will be sent to each reference requesting comments via a link in the message.

Nomination Form: Click here to submit a nomination.

Nature of Award: Plaque

Presentation: Awards ceremony at General Session at the AECT annual convention.

Funding And Support: AECT

Nominations due by: Aug. 15, 2019

Award Management on behalf of AECT: AECT Awards Committee

Contact : Steve Harmon, Chair, AECT Awards Committee,



 • Charlie Reigeluth
 • Atsusi Hirumi
 • Richard Mayer
 • Michael J. Hannafin
 • Peggy A. Ertmer
 • Thomas Reeves
 • David H. Jonassen

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675