AECT - Dean & Sybil McClusky Research Award


The AECT Dean and Sybil McClusky Research Award honors an outstanding doctoral research proposal in educational technology as judged by a jury from the AECT Research and Theory Division.

F. Dean McClusky was a professor of education at the University of California, Los Angeles. A prolific writer and researcher in the educational communications and technology field, he established his reputation with publications such as Audio-Visual Teaching Techniques, the A-V Bibliography (1950) which contained more than three thousand references to literature dealing with the use of audio-visual materials and techniques in education, and The Audio-Visual Reader (1954), a collection of readings in the visual education field co-edited with James S. Kinder, who was the coordinator of AV Services at San Diego State College. McClusky's wife, Sybil Kemp McClusky, working as his editorial assistant, offered constructive criticism and proofread manuscripts. In 1976 the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) posthumously awarded McClusky its Distinguished Service Award, recognizing his outstanding leadership in advancing the theory and practice of educational communications and technology over a substantial period of time. The Dean and Sybil McClusky Research Award for an outstanding doctoral research proposal was established with funds donated to the ECT Foundation by Dean and Sybil McClusky, an expression of their commitment to the future leaders of the field.

Applicants must presently be enrolled in a doctoral program in educational technology and have obtained committee acceptance of their doctoral proposal.   Potential candidates are encouraged to review pages 157-161 of Isaac and Michaels’ (1971) Handbook in Research and Evaluation, Robert R. Knapp, San Diego, CA.

Review Criteria:
Submitted proposals may follow accepted formats of individual schools and universities but must include:  
• The definition of the problem including a statement of significance.
• A review of pertinent literature.
• Research hypothesis to be examined.
• Research design and procedures including statistical techniques.

Nomination Procedures:
Prepare a cover letter that briefly discusses the background of your research project and include both yours and your advisor's contact information. Your proposal must be within 2,000 words. The title page and the references are not included in this word count. Make sure that you address the criteria for this award in your proposal.

Please send your cover letter and proposal to AECT Research and Theory Division Immediate Past President Heather Leary ( with “RTD McClusky Award” in the subject line of the email.

Intention Statement:
The winner will be expected to sign a statement of the effect that he/she will complete the proposed doctoral study in accordance with the sponsoring university's graduate school policies (including any time limitations) or be required to return the award received.

Nature of Award: A cash award of $250 will be presented to the winner.

Presentation: The recipient will be recognized at the Research and Theory Awards ceremony to be held during the AECT International Convention.

Funding And Support: AECT Foundation

Nominations due by: May 15, 2023 

Award Management on behalf of AECT: Research & Theory Division

Contact : Heather Leary,



 • Jennifer Park
 • Hamid Nadir
 • Kathryn Marie Sharpe
 • David Schubert
 • Kei Tomita
 • Kyung Kim
 • Yeol Huh
 • Erkan Er
 • Sinem Aslan
 • Jared Borup
 • William Ernesto Mejia
 • Khitam Azaiza
 • Ioan Gelu Ionas

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675