Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

McJulien Scholar Best Paper Award 

The Culture, Learning, and Technology’s McJulien Scholar Award is presented to the best proposal submitted to the Culture, Learning and Technology Division.

The awardee a plaque presented during the awards ceremony at the 2019 annual convention to be held October 21 - October 25, 2019 at the Westgate Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.


The best paper discussing a theoretical construct or research that could guide further research and/or development in nexus of Culture, Learning and Technology.


Scholarship Award was established by Wes McJulien, past president of AECT and member of the ECT Foundation, in memory of his son, Patrick D. McJulien.


  1. The applicant must be member of AECT and a member of the Culture, Learning and Technology Division
  2. The winner(s) will be selected from proposals accepted for a concurrent session at the Annual Convention


The proposal must be an original unpublished work dealing with research and/or theory in culture, learning and technology. It can include a theoretical construct, analyses of related research, and original recommendations for future research and/or development. The paper may not be a report of a specific research study or development project. It must also conform to the Publications Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th edition.


All concurrent proposal submissions to the Culture, Learning, and Technology division will be considered for the award.

The winner(s) must be willing to

  • serve for at least period of one (1) year as advisors to the AECT CLT Board
  • lead the McJulien Scholar panel discussion at the next Annual Convention.
  • write a full paper to support his/her proposal which will be submitted for consideration as an AECT CLT brief


The selection of the winning proposal will be the responsibility of the awards committee for the Culture, Learning and Technology Division. Only a submission judged worthy of the award will win. An award will not be made if none of the entries are deemed meritorious.

Funding and Support:

The plaque for this award is supported by Routledge Publishing


For additional information please contact Holly Marshburn, Vice-President of Awards and Finance at


Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745