AECT Outstanding Book Award
 Sponsored by AECT's Research & Theory Division

The Research and Theory Division established this award for the best book-length publication in educational communications and technology. To be considered for the award, a book must be concerned with the field of educational communication and technology through research or scholarly inquiry, must have a research base, and must have a copyright date of the past two years.

A book may be nominated by the author or by another scholar. To be eligible for the award, a nominee must be a member of AECT in good standing at the time of nomination. The book may have been published anywhere in the world but must be available in English. No edited volumes are considered for the award. Winners of AECT’s Research and Theory Outstanding Book Award will be awarded during the Research and Theory/Design and Development Awards Luncheon to be held during AECT's November 2018 International Convention.

Nomination Procedures:
To nominate an article submit the following:

  • Cover letter with a short rationale statement of the nomination and complete bibliographic citation for the book

  • Printed copy of the nominated book & please send formatted PDF if available

The nominator must submit the nomination letter detailing the contribution of the book and the basis for the nomination, bibliographic citation, and the formatted PDF for the book to AECT Research and Theory Division Immediate Past President Dr. Fei Gao ( with “RTD Book Award” in the subject line of the email.

Nominations due by: April 1, 2019

Contact : Dr. Fei Gao,



 • Richard West
 • George Veletsianos
 • Ali Carr-Challman
 • Thomas Reeves
 • Susan McKenney
 • Thomas Reeves
 • Susan McKenney
 • Lisa Yamagata-Lynch
 • David Jonassen
 • Jason D. Baker
 • Michael K. Ponton
 • Alfred P. Rovai

Address: 320 W. 8th Street, Suite 101
Bloomington, IN 47404-3745
Toll Free: 877-677-2328
Phone: 812-335-7675