Return to the

AECT, ECT, and

Divisional Awards

AECT Distinguished Development Award 

The award recognizes a recent publication of a paper or product with high impact in the area of instructional design and development research.

Submitted papers or products must have been completed within two years of deadline.    
Nominees/awardees need not be members of AECT.

Review Criteria:
Work that reflects innovative practice and creative development.
Demonstrated effectiveness, and/or sustained and superior quality.
Work that is likely to have an impact on practice and/or research.
The Development Editor of ETR&D presents a set of candidates along with their short CVs and   relevant URLs to the Development Board which then votes for a 1st and 2nd choice, sending those votes to the editorial assistant ( so as to preserve anonymity.
The Development Editor tallies votes and announces the winner, conveying to the winner the opportunity to present at the annual meeting in a session following the ETR&D joint board meeting.

Nomination Procedures:
ETR&D-Development Editorial Board receives nominations from the AECT Exec Committee, the ETR&D Boards, as well as the general membership. The Development Editor contacts nominees to convey details of the award and determine willingness to be considered.
Nominations should be sent to Dr. Mike Spector (  Include the name of the nominee, e-mail address, any relevant URLs and the basis for the nomination.  Persons submitting nominations may contact other board members, AECT members and colleagues to exchange ideas regarding the award nomination. Nominators may send up to two separate nominations.

Deadline for Submissions:  April 15

Nature and Presentation of the Award:
Recipient receives a plaque at an AECT convention luncheon or ETR&D Board meeting.
The winner has the opportunity to present the paper or product  related to the publication at a dedicated ETR&D session at the annual meeting including 20 minutes for the presentation with 10 minutes allotted for discussion.   The  total one hour session also includes a presentation by the previous year’s AECT Young Scholar award winner.  The Young Scholar award is managed by ETR&D-Research.

Funding and Support:  AECT
Contact:  Dr. Mike Spector


Association for Educational Communications and Technology

320 W. 8th st. Ste 101
Bloomington, IN • 47404-3745